Athletes line up for the Pride of Tameside Awards

STALYBRIDGE and Mossley will be well represented at the Tameside Sports Awards that take place on September 28 at Dukinfield Town Hall.

Mossley AFC Running Club’s Steve Bates and Vanessa Murphy-Wood, from Stalybridge dance troupe TCA Tycoons, have been shortlisted for coach of the year.

Pride of Tameside Sports Awards

There are also two nominees in the unsung hero in sport category, Mossley Cycle Racing Team’s Fred Hewitt and the late Yvonne Kelley, from Stalybridge Swimming Club who has been put forward retrospectively.

In the running for team of the year are TCA Tycoons, Stalybridge Celtic Foundation, Triple X Personal Training that is based at Copley Mill and Tameside Karate Club whose home in at West Hill School.

Katie Toft, who competes for Mossley Cycle Racing Team, is nominated for disabled sports achiever of the year and Mossley AFC’s Michelle Styan for the changing lifestyles award.

And in the hunt for the school commitment to PE and sport are Buckton Vale Primary, Carrbrook, and Stalybridge’s St Peter’s RC Primary.

Sports Achiever of the Year
1. Ian Foden
2. Max Charlett
3. Ella Standringol

4. Emily McManus
5. Sophie Rowney
6. Jessica Halliwell
7. Joe Steward
8. Lydia Eve Williams
9. Lewis Cottam
10. Patrick Braddock
11. Mike Coogan
12. Ben Haughton
13. Ellie McManus

Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year
1. Ben Gill
2. Ava Rowson
3. Katie Toft
4. Chantelle Gibson
5. Shane Sheriff
6. Joseph Montouri
7. Aaron Matthews
8. Martin Dale
9. Caroline Pender
10. Andrei Popescu

Alex Williams Volunteer of the Year
1. Grace Lawton
2. George Cope
3. Sophie Owen
4. Christine McCreery
5. Chris Dobson
6. Adam Hawley
7. Isabelle Kharas
8. Grace Fairhurst
9. Helen Thornhill
10. Craig Woods

Unsung Hero in Sport
1. Derek Partridge
2. Fred Hewitt
3. Donal Townson
4. Gemma Whittaker
5. Pat Evans
6. Ged Redman
7. Yvonne Kelley

Coach of the Year
1. Steve Bates
2. Sean Bennett
3. Dominic Bennett
4. Andy Saint
5. Jade Groombridge
6. Jane Sullivan
7. Clare Marsland
8. Jane Wood
9. Vanessa Murphy- Wood
10. Frances Pegg
11. Lorna Woods

Club of the Year
1. Dukinfield Marlins Amateur Swimming Club
2. Dom Doyle F.C.
3. Denton Sychronised Swimming Club
4. Hyde Village Striders
5. TCA Tycoons
6. East Cheshire Harriers
7. Ashton Under Lyne Swimming Club
8. West End AFC
9. Stalybridge Celtic Foundation
10. Triplex Gym
11. Tameside Karate
12. Broadbottom Cricket Club
13. AFC Stanley

Changing Lifestyles Award
1. Louise Morgan
2. Michelle Styan
3. Gary Minster
4. Roy Coulthard
5. Geoffrey Scott
6. Darren Foskett
7. Linda Schofield
8. Craig Dowd
9. Kevin Sinclair

The School Commitment to PE and Sport Award
1. Broadbent Fold Primary School and Nursery
2. Greswell Primary school
3. Greenside Primary school
4. Moorside Primary Academy
5. St John Fisher RC primary School
6. Oasis Broadoak
7. Hawthorns SEN School
8. Russell Scott Primary School
9. Buckton Vale Primary School
10. Hollingworth Primary School
11. St Peters RC Primary School (Stalybridge)
12. Oakdale School
13. St Pauls Catholic Primary school (Hyde)
14. St James RC Primary School (Hattresley)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *