Priory Tennis Club awards handed out at president’s evening

A NUMBER of awards were handed out at Priory Tennis Club’s president’s evening.

The President’s Cup went to Jonno Seville, Ed Seville, Nick Holmes and Will Johnson, members of the men’s first team that achieved a fourth successive promotion in the Slazenger North East Cheshire League.

Jonno Seville was named male player of the year, Lisa Woodhead top female player and Sam Cassin the leading junior.

Sam’s award was collected by head coach Andy Perry as he was unable to attend.

Jill Dale was the volunteer of the year and Martin Crowther picked up the unsung hero award.

WINNERS, l-r, Jonno Seville, Andy Perry, Ed Seville, Nick Holmes, Will Johnson, Lisa Woodhead, Jill Dale, Martin Crowther; front, Vicki Schofield

Fifty-eight members, friends and family came together to celebrate the end of president Vicki Schofield’s term of office.

Vicki’s husband Henry served up a three-course dinner to get the evening underway and this was followed by the most important part, the presentation of the president’s awards.

This year Vicki and Henry kindly donated The President’s Cup to be presented as a special award each year by the president to either an individual or team who have done something exceptional at the club.

The club’s president for 2019 will be Jackie Kneen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *